Print Page   |   Contact Us
Community Search

10/22/2014 » 10/23/2014
EIVA Fall Meeting

10/23/2014 » 10/25/2014
Veterinary Dental Education Networking and Training CE

Greater Des Moines Veterinary Medical Association CE

Public Health Committee

11/12/2014 » 11/13/2014
Midwest Small Animal Association Annual Meeting

Greater Des Moines Veterinary Medical Association CE

Greater Des Moines Veterinary Medical Association CE

2/15/2015 » 2/19/2015
Western Veterinary Conference

4/17/2015 » 4/21/2015
Medical Acupuncture for Veterinarians - Small Animal & Exotics

4/22/2015 » 4/26/2015
Medical Acupuncture for Veterinarians - Equine & Farm Animal

CVA Requirements
Share |

In order to receive certification, certain standard requirements must be met. These include

    • Work experience under the supervision of a DVM or RVT

    • Mastering all required Level 3 material

    • Gaining and demonstrating the hands-on skills listed on the “Skills Validation Checklist”

    • Exam Application and Skills Validation Checklist completed and approved by the DVM or RVT

    • Successful completion of the certification examination (70%)

To be certified under the IVMA program, the applicant must successfully demonstrate 100% of the required skills and competencies. Some of the required skills may not be regularly practiced in the clinic where the applicant has gained experience.  However, it is the applicant’s responsibility to develop all skills listed. For example, if the required skill states that the applicant has "demonstrated the safe and proper method for placing a halter on a horse," and the clinic where the applicant works does not treat horses, the DVM or RVT who is validating this skill may make this determination by having the applicant describe how this process works and the steps one would take when performing this procedure. Once the supervisor is satisfied that the applicant understands how to perform the skill correctly, they may check the skill off the checklist, even though the actual horse was not available for demonstration.

Each applicant who passes the Level 3 exam will receive a congratulatory letter and certificate. We hope the newly designated CVA will display the certificate in a prominent place and will take considerable pride in their new designation. In the unfortunate event of an applicant failing the exam, the applicant will be eligible to re-take the exam as many times as needed and at a discounted price.

Once the applicant has successfully achieved Level I certification, they should complete six months at Level I before they are eligible to sit for the Level II exam. This is a standard time requirement that also applies to those moving from Level II to Level III. Although there is no allotted ‘time maximum,’ IVMA suggests that applicants begin preparation immediately upon completing Level I in order to master the Level II exam material at the conclusion of the six months period. The waiting periods between levels may be waived with approval from the IVMA.
Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't joined yet?

Latest News